Missionary Minds

“Here I am, send me; send me to the ends of the earth; send me to the rough, the savage pagans of the wilderness; send me from all that is called comfort on earth; send me even to death itself, if it be but in Thy service, and to promote thy kingdom.”

-David Brainard

 

“Then I thought it reasonable that I should seek to work where the work was most abundant and the workers fewest.”

“To me the soul of an Indian seemed as precious as the soul of an Englishmen and the Gospel as much for the Chinese as for the European; and as the band of missionaries was few compared with the company of home ministers, it seemed to me clearly to go abroad”

-James Gilmour

 

“What is this you write- ‘Come home’? Surely now, in our terrible death of workers, it is not the time for anyone to desert his post. Send us only to our first twenty men and I may be tempted to help you find the second twenty.”

-Alexander Mackay

 

“I am immortal until my work is accomplished.”

-David Livingstone

 

“Some wish to live within the sound of a church or Chapel bell; I want to run a rescue shop within a yard of hell.”

-CT Studd

 

Leave a Reply

